A New Year Challenge to Me

22 Days into the New Year and classes are going very well.

I have decided to challenge myself to doing a small painting a week of either a person or an animal in Watercolour, not a big deal you might say!  But here is the real challenge for me, which is to paint them Without any Pencil Drawings at all!

Oh Dear What have I done!!

Those of you that know me, know that I do like doing a drawing first and tend to put quite a lot of detail in.  I have included some interesting facts about colours as well so please read on.

So here goes…. This is the first one painted on Saturday 17th January 2015 at my Colour Mixing Workshop.  Only another 51 to paint for the next 12 months…..

Challenge Painting Wk 1 - 2015

Challenge Painting Wk 1 – 2015

I started off painting the head of the horse in Burnt Sienna and dropping in Ultramarine Blue, allowing the colours to mingle on the paper whilst the Burnt Sienna was still wet to achieve darker browns and greys.  So there was no need to mix the brown or grey in the palette, but allowing the water and paint to do its own thing.

Burnt Sienna is created by roasting Raw Sienna, it is a superb colour to have in your palette, Transparent, Excellent Lightfastness, mixes well with Ultramarine for dark browns and greys.  Creates a very dark green when mixed with Winsor Blue (RS) or the alternative which is Phthalo Blue (RS).

French Ultramarine Blue is also a great colour, I would not be without mine, originally produced from Lapis Lazuli, a semi-precious stone from Afghanistan, it was ground into powder and made into ultramarine the finest and most expensive of the blue pigments.  An artificial Ultramarine was invented by a Frenchman, Monsieur J.B. Guimet, a bright violet blue.  Genuine Ultramarine is still manufactured but on a very small scale.  It is a Transparent to Semi-Transparent pigment and will lift easily.

I did get a bit carried away and add the rider, people not being my forte was the Bigger Challenge here!

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Graham
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 13:48:06

    A great start,will be interesting to watch ths challenge progress!

    Reply

  2. Liz
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 14:21:54

    Now that is a WOW Yvette – the horse is really flying and the rider moving with it. I think it’s a great painting and it looks as if your style is going to change dramatically over the next year and I for one will look forward to that!

    Reply

  3. Art with Yvette
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 14:30:04

    Thanks Liz, I am hoping that this challenge will really help me to develop my style.

    Reply

  4. Carol
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 17:29:19

    Fabulous and so brave of you. Cant believe you haven’t done a lot of these in the past. Has a lovely softness about it.
    Carol xx

    Reply

  5. Trish Penrose
    Jan 26, 2015 @ 07:47:55

    That is amazing Yvette! With results like that you don’t need to do a drawing first ever again! you’ve inspired me to have a go –

    Reply

Leave a Reply

