Autumnal River Scene

I was delighted to be asked by Whitchurch Art Group near Tavistock, to provide a Demonstration Workshop (approx 2 – 2.5 hrs), I supplied a sketched image for each member to work from and they followed my Step by Step Demonstration of the scene.

See the results of the demonstration step by step below.

Colours used throughout the Painting were as follows:

  • Sky: Winsor Blue (Red Shade)
  • Tree Foliage and Banks: Burnt Sienna, Gamboge and Winsor Blue (RS)
  • Tree Trunks and Branches: Burnt Sienna and Ultramarine Blue with Raw Sienna as a base.
  • Reflections: as above.

 

Initial Sketch

(1) Initial Sketch using Water-Soluble Graphite Pencil

(2) I painted the sky in first, whilst the sky was still wet I started to add the distance trees so they would blend into the sky a little, keeping them fairly soft without too much texture.

(2) I painted the sky in first bringing it down beyond the top of the trees, and whilst the sky was still wet I started to add the distance trees from left to right, so they would blend into the sky a little, keeping them fairly soft without too much texture.  By the time I reached the righthand side the sky was drying which was fine as the closer trees were creating a drier top edge, I also added a bit more strength to my colour to the nearer trees on the right.

(3) Next I started to work on the forground  areas creating extra strengths of colour and marks.

(3) I then started to work on the foreground areas creating extra strengths of colour and marks.

 

(4) Adding the main trees in the scene started to bring life to the painting.  I used Ultramarine and Burnt Sienna to get my dark trunks.  I applied a little Raw Sienna to the trunks in places and then added the dark colour which added a varying textural effect to the trunk and creating light filtering through the trees.

(4) Adding the main trees in the scene started to bring life to the painting. I used Ultramarine and Burnt Sienna to get my dark trunks. I applied a little Raw Sienna to the trunks in places before adding the dark trunk colour which added a textural effect to the trunk and creating light filtering through the trees.   The righthand trees needed extra work to make them feel closer, so I applied some dry brush work to the foliage areas, and added the trunks and branches.

(6)  Finally it was time to add the water and reflections.  Little by little I added the reflected colours of the trees, putting sky colour in the closer water area.  I used downward strokes to reflect the colour and then worked horizonatally to show movement on the water.

(5) Finally it was time to add the water and reflections. Little by little I added the reflected colours of the trees, painting the sky colour in the remaining areas. I used downward strokes to reflect the colour of the trees and then worked horizontally to show movement on the water.

(6)

(6)  I increased the reflections a little at a time, taking a big step back from the painting to view the progress of it until I was happy that I had added enough relection detail.  I could have painted more, but I did not want it to be photographic representation.

The Group and their paintings.  Although some paintings were not quite finished, as time did not allow but they were able to finish at home.

(7)  The Happy Group and their paintings. Although some paintings were not quite finished, as time did not allow, but they were all happy to finish them at home.

It was a most enjoyable afternoon, a great group of painters and full of enthusiasm, I received a round of applause at the end, which sent me home most satisfied that they had a good time.

Thank you one and all.

Happy Painting.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole Ives
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 09:02:39

    Well done Yvette. You are so good at your work and a great teacher. Wish I was nearer to join your groups. Nicole x

    Reply

  2. Liz Crew
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 09:28:44

    Well done Yvette – that was a superb demonstration, resulting in a beautiful picture and a very happy group which came through strongly in the group picture. Good to see. Perhaps we might include that in the press release if you felt it was okay. I will work on it over the next few days. I have saved a couple of those pictures from your email with that. In mind.

    It was a good painting session yesterday. Hope you feel a little better today. Liz

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  3. Paul Mallett
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 10:10:07

    What a superb painting, Yvette. Love it!

    Reply

  4. Jane Waters
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 22:43:10

    Wow what fabulous results ! Date: Tue, 18 Nov 2014 08:51:52 +0000 To: lizaj@hotmail.co.uk

    Reply

Leave a Reply

