Trio of London Scenes by a Talented Learner

It has been a delight to have my Dad attend my Classes this year, and his latest works of art were certainly a challenge for him.  In the main he is a landscape artist, but I encouraged him to try something different, he rose to the challenge and the following paintings are the result.  I think he did curse me at times, but he was not going to let the tasks get the better of him.

All three paintings are super, well done Pater.

So whats your favourite?

London Buses by Percy Kingdom

London Buses by Percy Kingdom

The Queen’s Guard by Percy Kingdom

The Queen’s Guard by Percy Kingdom

Cabs & Flags by Percy Kingdom

Cabs & Flags by Percy Kingdom

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. helen351
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 22:32:30

    Love all of them…it’s difficult to choose a particular painting. I saw ‘London Buses’ as ‘work in progress’. Very different from his usual subject choice. Well Done! Percy.

    Have a good week.

    Helen x

    >

    Reply

  2. Jo Hunter
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 05:42:56

    For me, it is the buses. Not knowing Percy’s work I can’t comment on how different it is from his regular style, but I love the reflections and light bouncing of the glass in the top image.

    Reply

  3. Art with Yvette
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 07:15:04

    Yes it’s very difficult to choose, but I particularly like the Queen’s Guard, followed very closely by the buses and then the taxi’s a very close 3rd. I know the hard work that went into drawing up the Guard’s.

    Reply

  4. Carol Riby
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 08:15:57

    Gorgeous,
    now we know where your talent came from Yvette.
    Carol

    Reply

  5. Beth Galipeau
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 08:28:17

    These paintings are brilliant.

    Reply

  6. Liz Crew
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 09:07:04

    Well done indeed to your talented Father. My favourite is the Guards – I can feel them marching straight. Towards me and hear the music that they are playing; the busses and cabs joint second. Being a Londoner born and bred, they have all three a very strong appeal to me, particularly living in Cornwall.

    I hope the easel passes on some of his talent! Liz Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  7. Percy
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 11:05:07

    Fame at last thank you all

    Reply

    • Liz
      Aug 11, 2014 @ 17:09:32

      Thank you for letting us see your work – we can but aspire for the future! Painting is such a wonderful pastime and hooray for Yvette who is leading us through to better things, hopefully!

      Reply

    • Art with Yvette
      Aug 12, 2014 @ 06:52:05

      Your Fame has now gone to Ontario and has been liked very much by an Art Tutor, and further a field too, not only is this blog in the UK, its also posted on Twitter which has followers World Wide, so YES FAME indeed.

      Reply

  8. Judy Steven
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 14:44:31

    I loved your Fathers pictures of London colourful and full of action.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

