Granulating Colours – Class Demo

Wednesday 12th at St Ive Village Hall,

Class Schedule: Granulating Colours

Granulation

Granulation is the separation of pigments, you can encourage clumps of pigment to settle into the rough texture of the paper, giving an interesting and easily achieved visual effect.  French Ultramarine Blue is a great granulating colour.

Mix up a very watery wash and lay it on your paper, then holding it horizontally, rock it back and forth to encourage the pigments to settle in the hollows of the paper, rough paper is great for this.  Test out various mixes of granulating colours from your palette to see the effects for yourself.  (check the manufacturers colour chart to see which of the colours you have are Granulating, a letter ‘g’ is what you are looking for)

Granulating colours will separate whilst you are mixing them in your palette, try Cerulean Blue and Light Red this is great to mix and see them separate, it’s really hard to keep them together.

A wet misty day in the Alps

Stage 1 Demo.

Colours used in the Sky: French Ultramarine (Winsor & Newton, my prefered make) and Burnt Sienna

Foreground colours: French Ultramarine and Winsor Yellow plus the Sky Mix

Sky and Foreground Demo using Granulating Colours

Demo: I mixed up the colours for the sky and applied it to the top area, adding plenty of water as I went, adding extra colour to the areas throughout the sky, fiddling as I went (not advisable), Whilst the sky was still wet and I was unable to do the distant mountain range and the class was eager to see more painting, I started the foreground.  I really like to wait for sections to dry before I move on and contemplate my next move, but time in a class is limited, so I painted on, I did not want to use the hairdryer as the force of air when the shine on the paint is still there would have pushed the pigments around changing the overall finish.  Its better to let it naturally dry if you have time.

Applying a bright mix for a touch of sunlit grass area of French Ultramarine and Winsor Yellow, I quickly weakened it as I went as it was too bright, I then quickly mixed up varying degrees of green with the same colours to keep it flowing well.  Finally adding the sky mix to the front area to suggest shadow along the ground, this tied in the atmosphere of the sky with the foreground.

Stage 2 Demo.

Distant Mountain Range

 The next stage was to insert the distant mountain range,

I mixed French Ultramarine with Winsor Yellow and a touch of Burnt Sienna to produce a darker shade, but still keeping the mix cool for recession.

I allowed water to drip into the top section top add a misty effect.

A little colour ran upwards on the left hand side but this can be lifted out is I feel the need later.

The next stage is to add another mountain area in front of this one when its dry.

You will have noticed that my hut is further in the picture than that of the photograph, this is going to be my focal point, so I used the 1/3 rule when drawing it in.

I mixed up a darker mix of French Ultramarine and Burnt Sienna with some Winsor Yellow for the middle tree area, dropping some water in as I went to show variations in the tree area so it doesn’t look flat.

Middle area

A  base colour of Raw SIenna was applied to the building followed by a mix of French Ultramarine and Burnt Sienna in varying mixes.

I  brushed the foreground in using the dry brush technique, with varying mixes of the French Ultramarine, Winsor Yellow and adding Burnt Sienna to it.

Foreground Dry Brush

Further addition of dry brush and some softening off with water so it’s not too harsh.

Nearly Finished

I finally added a few posts to help your eyes to wander around to the building.

Finished

Always experiment with your colours watch how they react with each other, its fascinating to see granulation work in your palette.

Have fun!

Mixed Colours Granulating and separating in my Palette

I hope that you have enjoyed the first of my Demonstrations unfold on this Blog please return and see more, and spread the word.

Thank you and please add your comments.  

Yvette.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole Ives
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 08:02:07

    Wonderful

    Reply

  2. Mary Bennett
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 08:07:11

    very nice Yvette, I enjoyed the demo & look forward to the next one 😉

    Reply

  3. Paul Mallett
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 06:29:32

    Hello Yvette. Did you use masking fluid on the French Alpine hut when doing the surrounding colours?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

